Subject: In-town pool report #3

From: Chris Johnson
Date: June 19, 2019 at 5:05:11 PM EDT
Subject: In-town pool report #3

From the White House:

Today, President Donald J. Trump will award the Presidential Medal of Freedom to Arthur B. Laffer. This prestigious award is the Nation’s highest civilian honor, which may be awarded by the President to individuals who have made especially meritorious contributions to the security or national interests of the United States, to world peace, or to cultural or other significant public or private endeavors.

Mr. Laffer, the “Father of Supply-Side Economics,” is one of the most influential economists in American history. He is renowned for his economic theory, the “Laffer Curve,” which establishes the strong incentive effects of lower tax rates that spur investment, production, jobs, wages, economic growth, and tax compliance. Dr. Laffer was the first chief economist of the Office of Management and Budget and a top economic advisor to President Ronald Reagan.
Among other accomplishments during his distinguished career, he served as a consultant to the Department of the Treasury and Department of Defense. Dr. Laffer’s public service and contributions to economic policy have helped spur prosperity for our Nation.

The following individuals are expected to attend:
The White House
President Donald J. Trump
Larry Kudlow, Assistant to the President and Director of the National Economic Council
Kevin Hassett, Chairman, Council of Economic Advisers
Susan Varga, Special Assistant to the President and Chief of Staff to the Director of the National Economic Council

Trump Administration
Secretary Steve Mnuchin, Department of the Treasury
Secretary Alex Acosta, Department of Labor
Secretary Ben Carson, Department of Housing and Urban Development
Secretary Elaine Chao, Department of Transportation

External Participants
Stephen Batman
Robert Bishop
Harold Blue
Candy Carson
Joel-Tomas Citron
James Dondero
Roy Fickling
Stephen Forbes
Michael Hintze
David Kretschmer
Judy Kudlow
Justin Laffer
Rachel Laffer
Tricia Laffer
Allison Laffer
Arther Laffer, Jr.
Michael Madzin
Adele Malpass
Byron Minerd
Stephen Moore
Anne Moore
Molly Rembert
Rex Sinquefield
Jeanne Sinquefield
Michael Stabile
Michael Stojsavljevich
Richard Strong
Ray Van Horn
Catherine Wood

Chris Johnson
Washington Blade
Chief Political & White House Reporter
Follow me on Twitter:


Public Pool is an automated feed of White House press pool reports. For live updates, follow @WHPublicPool on Twitter.

Share This Story